Monday 11 November 2013

Mozambican, Couto, wins U.S. literature prize

Mozambican author, António Emílio Leite (Mia) Couto, has won a $50,000 literature prize in the U.S.

Couto, 58, was adjudged winner by a jury of nine authors, for the 2014 Neustadt International Prize for Literature

Established in 1969, The Neustadt Prize is awarded every two years. Previous winners include Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Octavio Paz and Elizabeth Bishop.
António Emílio Leite (Mia) Couto
The award, according to Voice of America (VOA) was announced on Friday by the promoters, University of Oklahoma and a magazine based at the school, World Literature Today.

Cuoto's works include novels Sleepwalking Land and The Last Flight of the Flamingo as well as a short story collection, Voices Made Night. He is considered to be one of the most important writers in Mozambique, and has his works published in more than 20 languages.

Born in 1955 in Beira, Mozambique, Couto began his literary career during the struggle for Mozambique's independence, when he edited two journals. His first novel Sleepwalking Land, was published in 1992.

No comments:

Post a Comment