Tuesday 17 September 2013

Three finalists emerge for $100, 000 Nigeria Literature Prize

Three contenders, Tade Ipadeola {The Sahara Testament}, Amu Nnadi {Through the Windows of Sandcastle} and Ogochukwu Promise {Wild Letters} have been shortlisted ahead of the grand finale for the prestigious Nigeria Prize for Literature.

It should be recalled that last month when eleven entries were shortlisted, the organisers stressed that the 2013 Nigeria Prize for Literature is on poetry.  
Ogochukwu Promise

According to the a statement  by the organisers,  Liquified  Natural Gas Ltd, the winner of the $100,000 prize will be announced on October 9, 2013.

Ipadeola, President of PEN Nigeria Centre and former legal adviser of the Association of Nigerian Authors {ANA}, is an Ibadan, Oyo State-based lawyer. 

He has  published two poetry collections, ‘A Time of Signs’ and ‘The Rain Fardel’ before ‘The Sahara Testaments’. In 2009, he won the Delphic Laurel in poetry with his poem ‘Songbird’ in Jeju, South Korea.

Though not a student of the arts, Amu, has over the years carved a niche for himself as a poet. ‘Voices from the Fringe’, his first collection of poems was edited by Harry Garuba and published by Malthouse Press in 1987. In 2002, his ‘The Fire Within’ won the maiden ANA/NDDC Gabriel Okara Prize for Poetry while he published ‘Pilgrim’s Passage’ in 2004. The Abuja-based poet is respected in literary circles.
Tade Ipadeola

Ogochukwu is a recipient of awards including the 1999 ANA/Cadbury Poetry Prize for her My Mother’s Eyes Speak Volumes and the 2000 Okigbo Poetry Prize for Poetry in Africa for her collection: Canals In Parado. She also made the 2005 shortlist of the NLNG.

No comments:

Post a Comment