Sunday 25 August 2013

First non-European Nobel Laureate in Literature to get centenary honour

When the award of Nobel Prize in Literature 2013 is announced in November, history will be revisited: Rabindranath Tagore (1861-1941), the first non-European winner of the prestigious prize will be honoured.
Rabindranath Tagore
Tagore, an Indian, and also the first Asian to win a Nobel prize was declared winner of the 1913 Nobel Prize in Literature and given the award in December of the same year.
According to an agency report,  a mark of honour for Tagore, a centenary celebration is already being planned by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden. 

Tagore, according to a statement on The Nobel Prize in Literature 1913 was given the award “because of his profoundly sensitive, fresh and beautiful verse, by which, with consummate skill, he has made his poetic thought, expressed in his own English words, a part of the literature of the West".

No comments:

Post a Comment