Wednesday 9 October 2013

Tade Ipadeola wins Africa’s biggest Literature Prize of $100, 000

Tade Ipadeola

For his work, The Sahara Testament, Tade Ipadeola has been declared the winner of the prestigious Nigeria Prize for Literature 2013.

Ipadeola beats the two other contenders, Amu Nnadi  (Through the Windows of Sandcastle) and Ugochukwu Promise (Wild Letters), the organiser, Liquified  Natural Gas Ltd (LNGL), has announced today during a press conference held at Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.

Ipadeola, President of PEN Nigeria Centre and former legal adviser of the Association of Nigerian Authors {ANA}, is an Ibadan, Oyo State-based lawyer.

He has  published two poetry collections, A Time of Signs and The Rain Fardel before The Sahara Testaments. In 2009, he won the Delphic Laurel in poetry with his poem Songbird in Jeju, South Korea.

In August, 11 contenders were shortlisted before pruning the finalists down to three. The list included
Afam Akeh (Letter Home and Biafran Nights);
Amatoritsero Ede (Globetrotter and Hitler’s Children)
G’ebinyo Egbewo (Marsh Boy and Other Poems)
Remi Raji (Sea of My Mind)
Professor Femi Osofisan (Seven Stations up the Stairways.
Tade Ipadeola (The Sahara Testaments)
Obari Gomba (Length of Eyes)
Iquo Eke (Symphony of Becoming)
Nnadi Amu (Through the Window of a Sandcastle)
Obi Nwakanma (Birthcry)
Ogochuckwu Promise (Wild Letters).

The judges:
Professors Romanus Egudu, Molara Ogundipe and Dr. Andrew Aba
st, 11 writers were shortlisted before pruning the contendes down to three. The list included 

No comments:

Post a Comment