Tuesday, 19 May 2020

African art fairs directors, founders converge for future

Touria El Glaoui. Pic: Internet c/o Apollo magazine.

A forum for post covid-19 contemporary art in Africa holds tomorrow, Wednesday as the first of weekly series of online panel discussions. Specifically, the forum focuses on the future of contemporary African art fairs in a post Covid-19 art world.


Announced as participants are Art Fairs Founders & Directors such as Tokini Peterside, ART X Lagos; Victoria Mann, AKAA; and Mandla Sibeko, FNB Art Joburg. They will be in discussion with Touria El Glaoui, founder of 1-54 Contemporary African art.

Organnised by 1-54, the online discussion is scheduled for 13:00 NYC / 18:00 UK + Nigeria / 19:00 France + South Africa / 20:00 Kenya.




It's of note that some of the scheduled art fairs for 2020 are already threatened, canceled or postponed due to the covid-19 pandemic. The emergence of art fairs in Africa and the diaspora, focusing on the continent's creative contents, have been on the rise in the past five years.



No comments:

Post a comment